Jan Brett Reading and Signing At Local University

by Ann Neilson

Jan Brett, the beloved author and illustrator of such books as The Mitten, The Hat, and The 3 Little Dassies, paid a visit to my local university where she gave a reading of her latest book, All About Cinders: A Chicken Cinderella. This book is quirky and clever, based on the original Cinderella tale. She cleverly utilizes her real-life chickens of eclectic breed to transform the classic tale into something comical and beautiful that children can enjoy.

Growing up with Jan Brett’s books, I am admittedly from the generation of such books as The Mitten and The Hat, having been read those books to throughout elementary school. The Mitten holds a special place in my heart, as well as Who’s Knocking On Christmas Eve.

There were craft tables present after the presentation, which I volunteered for. At my table, my group and I focused on Hedgie’s Surprise. Our table gave children the opportunity to both draw their own hedgehog as well as cut out and create their own hedgehog. It was quite fun, and the children seemed to enjoy it.

Below is a picture of my own creation, as well as our craft station for the kids:
Image
Image

Below are pictures of Jan Brett’s presentation (I apologize that they are blurry, they were taken from my phone, zoomed in, because a man’s head was in the way, hah):
Image
Image

And finally, below are pictures of the various things I received from going:
Image
There was a gorgeous handout given that discussed her book and its inspiration.

Image
And this was the lovely button I received!

Finally, my class group and I stood in front of the tour bus, which was magnificent! No one is pictured, to protect identity:
Image

Over all, this was a fantastic experience, and Jan Brett seems like a lovely woman! She is an amazing artist and children’s author, and I highly recommend her if you have never read her books.

I will leave you all with a link to her official website, and I hope you have enjoyed this blogpost as much as I enjoyed helping out for the event!

http://www.janbrett.com/

