Allow Me To Tell You A Little Bit About Myself

by Ann Neilson

I have strained to be as anonymous as possible. However, I feel that I am at a point with this blog where I may present to you all some tidbits about myself…If you are interested to read on, please do. If not, then another mundane blogpost will be posted in a few days. 

I am a romantic at heart. Couldn’t you tell? Was it too blatantly obvious? 

I enjoy handwriting letters and receiving them. They seem so much more personable than text messages or even phone callers, which then are better than text messages, although I do argue that text messages are nice because they preserve word, whereas phone calls do not. I digress. Handwritten letters are considerably more thoughtful and I wish to write these with my future soulmate. (By the way, as I believe you are out there, and if you believe I am yours, please come find me. I am waiting oh-so patiently yet eagerly.) What I adore with handwritten letters is the plethora of stationary available. I also love putting little flowers in letters. They’re romantic, okay.

I admire Jane Austen. (I am loosely, loosely related to her, by the way.) I wish to live in the world of Pride and Prejudice or Northanger Abbey. I want to find my Mr. Darcy. My Henry Tilney. 

If not for modern conveniences and technology, I would loathe this time period for I have always felt I was born in the wrong century. Can you guess which century I would have preferred to live in?

If I had the chance, I would have been a romantic interest of Edgar Allan Poe. Without question, I would have been a romantic interest of his, if even for a summer. I can be quite charming at times, not to toot my own horn. Quite witty too. You would have to speak with me in deep conversation to see both my charming and witty sides. I am pretentious as well (apparently). 

I long for luxurious things. I find luxury in what I have, however I yearn for my own home; to decorate, to fill love in. I mostly want a house just for the Halloween and Christmas seasons, because I adore decorating for those seasons. That’s it. Also throw in a parlor where I can go to to be alone and read or watch Pride and Prejudice. That’d be nice. And a silk or fleece blanket. Now we’re talking. 

As much as I adore romance movies and novels, not to mention classic literature in general, I adore horror and the things that go “bump-in-the-night.” I LOVE scary things; ghosts, vampires, you name it. I believe I have had one ghost encounter, however I am unsure. As of right now I still remain a skeptic, but I desperately want to believe in ghosts. I feel as if ghosts are mocking me, because I yearn to see them so badly, they all hide. Rude. 

Speaking of such, I adore post-mortem photography and have begun my own personal collection of said photos. I also adore walking around in graveyards. If I could, I would love to go to one of those “lolita” “anime” “goth” tea parties and dress up in Victorian garb. Just for an afternoon though, I have to return to normal life sometime. 

Finally, I am very religious. I am Eastern Orthodox and firmly believe in the Son, the God, and the Holy Spirit, and that God is my savior. Through Him, I can do all things. My favorite Bible verse is Psalms 119:105-“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” 

I hope this has given a glimpse into my personal life, however not too much of a glimpse. I still want to maintain a bit of anonymity. Congratulations if you made it through without rolling your eyes at how cliché I sound. There are only so many traits humans can have that make them unique. (Did I mention French is my second language?) 

