An Aside on Jane Austen and Charity

by Ann Neilson

I have been occupying myself with Jane Austen movies and other BBC films that are available through Netflix, and I must say, Mansfield Park (I believe it is the 1999 version?) is fantastic! I adored it, regardless of the undertones of cousin-cousin love. (Well, hah, there was no undertone there, it was bluntly pronounced.) And I must say, I honestly do not have any issues watching or reading novels with cousin-cousin love due to my exposure of it through studying Edgar Allan Poe. It was simply the time period, and I find nothing wrong with that. Although if I were to read a novel with those implications today, I think I would feel uneasy. It is all about the time period. 

I apologize for this quick blurb of nonsense after being silent for the past couple days. Finals have occupied my time. I will be delighted to finish this semester and move on with the next…oh, so delighted. I am taking primarily art classes next semester, both art history and art application classes. I am ecstatic! 

I have been debating whether or not to add a minor…I am already double-majoring, but I have so much interest in theater and vocal performance now (regained interest). We shall see!

In other news, Christmas is coming, and I want to remind everyone to please keep those who are less fortunate in your thoughts. Please do your part, if you wish to and can, and be generous this Christmas. I know there are so many charitable opportunities pretty much on every corner, so do not be afraid to partake in or act on those opportunities. 

Isaiah 58:10
 

and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed, then your light will rise in the darkness, and your night will become like the noonday.

 

