Traurigkeit–That Poem I Was Talking About–Re-Posted

by Ann Neilson

Traurigkeit

 

“The skies they were ashen and sober; 

the leaves they were crisped and sere-

the leaves they were withering and sere; 

it was night in the lonesome October of 

my most immemorial year” –Edgar Allan Poe “Ulalume” 

 

The ominous sky reminded of 

an apocalyptic world, 

Its sadistic grin, blighting the grass

the trees and flowers, unfurled. 

 

A history of moans and whimpers 

of past ages erupted forth. 

The ground cracked and showed no history 

of hard work or of self-worth. 

 

Contaminated cities of 

industrialized destruction 

Killed the earth with selfishness and 

heartless deprivation. 

 

A symphony of pity falls 

upon deaf ears turned away 

Those who are apt don’t watch to find 

the ending of the inhumane play. 

 

A melancholy world where all move

alongside the tide of time 

Weep for hope and pity from strangers; 

alas there is no one to find.  

[Author’s note: I will most likely post this on my other blog, so please keep in mind it IS me. Also, this is my baby and I shall post him wherever I wish. (If you’ve read my previous rant post, you’ll understand what I’m talking about.)]

