Poe’s Brother’s Poetry-Part Four-Final

by Ann Neilson

You can view the first three posts here, here, and here.

Let us commence.

[Original.]
WATERS OF LIFE.
There are thoughts so wild in our childhood’s hours,
That they charm the soul in its early dreaming–
We gaze and we clasp life’s with’ring flowers
While joy in our eye is gladly beaming.
Ah little we reek while life’s tide is flowing,
In laughing waves that will break at last,
That all those fond hopes which are fair and glowing,
Will languish and die when our youth is past.
Yes! gaily we sport on life’s sunny sea,
With our oars of Hope in the water splashing–
And gaily is flying life’s brilliant spray
As thro’ the waters we’re madly dashing.
The waters of Life! are they gently stealing,
Or do they come in their sternest power?
Wild’ring the soul with the wildest feeling,
Wearing the heart in its sadden’d hour.

JACOB’S DREAM
Inspir’d by faith’s illuming ray
To seek a home unknown,
Pensive the Patriarch trod his way,
Trusting in God alone.
Full many a wishful look he cast,
The wide, wide world around,
As on in solitude he passed,
Absorb’d in thought profound.
Dim night anon its curtain drew,
Soft slumber lent repose
When straight a figured scale in view,
With awful grandeur rose:
Then he beheld an angel throng
Strew’d o’er the glittering line,
That up and downward pass’d along
On embassies divine.
While yet the mystic pencil wrought
The visionary scene,
The soul new kindling fervours caught–
A glow of joy serene:
Though sunk in deep oblivion’s rest,
Each outward sense enchained,
There sprang an Eden in his breast–
Divine communion reigned.
Ah! why distrustful mortals, why
Renounce celestial care?
The arm that wields yon orbs on high
sustains each atom here!
Sooner shall fail the mother’s heart
Towards the infant son;
Sooner the floods their course depart,
And to their fountains run–
Than the blest streams of heav’nly love
In constant tides to flow,
From their enchantless source above,
To cherish man below!
The sun may set in lasting night,
The changeful moon decay–
And every brilliant star of light,
Fall from its sphere away!
Yet form’d on virtue’s lofty scale
From height to height to soar,
And o’er the grave and death prevail
When time shall be no more.
Still shall the soul’s essential fire
(Spark of the world of mind),
Burn on unquenched, when these expire,
And leave no trace behind.
While measuring out life’s little span
Of sorrows, crosses, joys,
Dispensed in mercy all to man–
And speaking wisdom’s voice.
HIs Maker’s Omnipresent pow’r
And watchful providence,
Are round him every live-long hour,
A succor and defence!
The meek and “contrite heart” he sways
And makes his temple there;
Attunes its trembling chords to praise,
And gratitude, and prayer.
He bids each boisterous tumult cease,
While hope high-winged o’er Time
Life Noah’s dove in search of peace,
Soars to a happier clime.

PSALM 139th
Lord! thou hast searched and scanned me through,
My inmost soul hast open thrown;
Naked I stand before thy yiew(possibly view, I believe this was a typo in the book)–
Each thought far off to thee is known.
My daily paths thou art among–
Around me, where I lay my head;
Thou know’st each word upon my tongue,
And spiest through all the walks I tread.
Filled with abasement and amaze–
Trembling before thee low I bend;
Such knowledge, such mysterious ways
I cannot reach, nor comprehend.
Where from thy presence shall I fly?
And whither from thy spirit go;
If I ascend to heaven on high–
Or make my bed in hell below,
Of if I take the wings of morn,
And dwell amid the utmost sea;
Thou still art there! no distant bourne–
From thy right hand shall set me free!
If of the darkness I should say,
‘Twill surely veil me–lo! the night,
Pierced by the all-pervading ray–
Around me shines with radiant light.
Alike to thee, night’s sable veil,
And the full day’s meridian blaze;
Thou source of light that ne’er shall fail,
And life that knows no end of days!
Thee will I praise–for thou hast joined
Thus fearfully my wondrous frame;
Thy marvellous works, Eternal mind!
All good, thy glorious power proclaim.

*Once again, the question marks are words that I am not able to discertain.

**These pieces have been copied out of the book Poe’s Brother, by Hervey Allen and Thomas Ollive Mabbott, copyright 1926, book no. 773/1000.

***I hope you have enjoyed! This is the final installment of his poetry, however I will be posting his stories and reviews soon. Be on the look out!

