Nevermore: The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe

by Ann Neilson

This musical is an absolute gem, let me tell you.

Although I do not know the plot (I surmise it is about his life) this musical looks absolutely fantastic and fascinating. From the gothic, Tim Burton-esque costumery to the quirky choreography and witty lines, this musical is sure to be a sight to behold.

I only wish I could have the chance to see it….If anyone has connections, please hook me up? I will adore you forever.

Seriously though, this musical appears to be the most accurate musical out of the ones I have seen/heard of. (Don’t pay mind to Woolfson’s, it’s bizarre and chronologically inaccurate, not to mention…well, we’ll say that he took entirely to creative liberties when making his musical.)

Nevermore has traveled, from what I’ve read, to Canada, New York City, and London, most recently being performed in Canada between February 15th and March 2nd(?) of this year. I am highly, HIGHLY disappointed that I missed it. There’s always next time. (I don’t live in Canada, however I would have found a way to get there, darn it!)

Here are some clips from the show, please enjoy:

From the Beginning

Edgar Met Elmira

Epilogue

Interview with the actor who portrayed Edgar

A Clip from Edmonton Press (best clip in my opinion)

As a side note, I want to say that one thing I particularly enjoy about this musical, from what I’ve seen, is that they accurately portray, and ACTUALLY portray in general, Henry, Poe’s brother. I have never witnessed another musical that has integrated Henry as a character. Bravo, Nevermore, bravo.

