New Beginnings

by Ann Neilson

Sometimes new beginnings are a good thing–a very, very good thing. 

After many years of dealing with drama, be it with friends, family, work, what have you, I finally realized I did not need those things in my life. I did not need to suffer through all of that to grow and learn and succeed in life. 

Giving up these things to start fresh can always be a wonderful thing. I am not advising you completely drop everything and begin anew; oh, no, not unless you are comfortable and stable enough to do so. All I am saying is you don’t need to carry these pieces of baggage on your back forever. You are your own person, only you can make yourself happy, and only you can decide who is worthy of staying in your life and who you should drop. 

I am now twenty-one and am realizing these things. This year alone, I have been releasing old relationships and gaining new ones. I currently am interning at the one place in the world I have ever wanted to truly intern, nay, work at, and I find myself currently talking to a wonderful man who is enriching my life and affecting me for the better. I feel freer than I ever have; freer of depression, of the drama, of so many things. 

People are going to annoy you–get rid of ’em. People are going to step on your toes–get rid of them. People are going to lie to you, cheat you, abuse you, hurt you, kill your spirit, strike your ego, and try to ruin you. But you know what? You just need to toss them out of your life. Toss all of the worthless trash, your worries, out of your life.

And remember, 
“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” 
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

