Romans 12:18

by Ann Neilson

If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.” –Source

I find myself unable to tolerate certain people more and more every day. Why is this? Hardships in life have certainly affected this, have caused me to harden my heart, although I may sport a facade so as to spare the feelings of others. It is not an easy task by any means, trying to open up warmly and be at peace with everyone–that is, truly be at peace without harboring any ill feelings.

My stubborn personality certainly does not aid in helping me overcome this resentment towards humanity, however I feel this work-in-progress has slowly but surely allowed me to open up more and return to the carefree, kind-spirited woman I once was. I realize more hardships are bound to happen, however it is teaching myself how to cope with these that has been the journey and process.

I have tried multiple techniques, including meditation, reading (namely the Bible), taking deep breaths, and reminding myself to stay positive and go through a mental cleansing.

Do you guys have any suggestions? Do you find you are a naturally upbeat person, or do you also feel yourself harboring ill feelings? Feel free to comment below.


